Writer’s Block: Confessions of a Literature Blogger

by Anoukh

It’s been some time since my last update, so I decided to write about the cause of this massive delay. Writer’s block. Every blogger will experience it at least once in their blogging life. Even the greatest authors experienced it: Ernest Hemingway, F. Scott Fitzgerald, even the ever witty Oscar Wilde! But what is writer’s block really, and what causes it? When my partner asked me why I hadn’t written for so long, I had a variety of answers ready:

“I just haven’t read any good books lately. “

“I don’t know what to write about.”

“I’m working on something, but it’s not entirely finished yet.”

“I know; I’ve been sooo busy lately!”

To which my partner replied: that’s bullsh*t and you know it. Yes. Yes, I did.

So what was the cause? A short circuit in the brain? Having ‘lost my muse’? In truth, it was simply loss of confidence. When I got stuck and reread, I found my writing uninteresting, incoherent and below average (to say the least).

But then what was I aiming for? A simple blog post or a life’s work? Do people really expect Pulitzer Prize-winning material from a recreational blogger? Probably not. I had to get over myself and just write. Because in the end, I write because I like sharing my thoughts on the books I read for the people who are interested in them. That is all.

And if this self-motivational speech fails, just tell yourself:

oscar

With these words I officially declare the end of my writer’s block. Let the blogging commence!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

