by Anoukh

For my first post, I feel that I should explain the name of my blog. If you’ve read my About page you’ll know that Mina is not my name. It is the name of a character in Bram Stoker’s Dracula. Feeling inspired by the Twilight craze of the time, I did my MA dissertation on 19th century vampire literature and how it portrayed the Victorian take on female sexuality. Mina Murray is one of Dracula’s victims. In Francis Ford Coppola’s version she’s played by Winona Ryder. (Watch it, it’s hysterical.)

And here she is, falling for his charms!

And here she is, falling for his charms!

Now being a governess/secretary, Mina Murray portrayed the “New Woman” of the 1890s, when working women were still considered dangerous and scary. A very renowned vampire scholar – don’t laugh, they’re quite numerous – once wrote that Abraham Von Helsing, with all his vampire fighting skills and patriarchal charisma, could never have stopped Dracula without the help of New Woman Mina. With her newly acquired secretary skills she gathered all the information on the count into a single volume. With this holy book of knowledge, they could find and defeat the age old monster. Like Mina, I intend to do the same with my thoughts. Only in a blog. And messier.

